bugGNU TeXmacs - Bugs: bug #62477, Two confirmation dialogues to...

 
 

You are not allowed to post comments on this tracker with your current authentication level.

bug #62477: Two confirmation dialogues to overwrite a file

Submitter:  Jeroen Wouters <jeronim>
Submitted:  Mon 16 May 2022 08:31:06 PM UTC
 
Category:  User Interface Priority:  5 - Normal
Item Group:  Error Status:  Need Info
Privacy:  Public Assigned to:  vdhoeven
Originator Name:  Open/Closed:  Open
Release:  None Release:  2.1.1
Fixed Release:  None Fixed Release: 
Keywords: 

Thu 13 Oct 2022 09:21:12 PM UTC, comment #5: 

I just tried on Windows and I also get two confirmation dialogues there.

I don't see how the result on MacOS can be different. "save-buffer" in tm-files.scm doesn't set the :overwrite option, so "save-buffer-as-check-permissions" should ask for confirmation, as well as Qt. "save-buffer-as" does set :overwrite, so "File->Save as" doesn't have the same problem as "File->Save".

Which message do you see? Is it " ... already exists. Do you want to replace it?" or "File already exists. Really overwrite?"?

Jeroen Wouters <jeronim>
Project Member
Wed 12 Oct 2022 08:49:07 PM UTC, comment #4: 

I just tried to build the Qt5 version on MacOS.
I followed your instructions, but could still not reproduce the problem.

Joris van der Hoeven <vdhoeven>
Project Administrator
Mon 10 Oct 2022 09:10:39 PM UTC, comment #3: 

Steps to reproduce are as follows:

- Open a new document
- Make changes
- Select File->Save
- Choose an existing .tm file
- Click "Save"

As you don't see this, I tested with the qt4 build from the website. With that build I can't reproduce it either. It seems to only happen with qt5.

Jeroen Wouters <jeronim>
Project Member
Mon 10 Oct 2022 05:41:48 PM UTC, comment #2: 

I cannot reproduce the problem.
Please be a bit more specific on what you do.

When opening TeXmacs, typing some text, and trying to save it to an already existing file test.tm, you should get a single message.

When opening an existing file test.tm, then creating a new buffer, typing something, and trying to save it to test.tm,
you should get two messages: one for being sure whether to overide the existing file, and another one for checking whether you wish to discard the edits in your first buffer.

Joris van der Hoeven <vdhoeven>
Project Administrator
Tue 31 May 2022 10:08:10 AM UTC, comment #1: 

I have attached a patch to fix this. It happens only when using "Save", not "Save as".

(file #53261)

Jeroen Wouters <jeronim>
Project Member
Mon 16 May 2022 08:31:06 PM UTC, original submission:  

When overwriting a file, two very similar confirmation windows appear (one after the other).

One says ".... already exists. Do you want to replace it?"

The other reads "File already exists. Really overwrite?"

Jeroen Wouters <jeronim>
Project Member

 

(Note: upload size limit is set to 16384 kB, after insertion of the required escape characters.)

Attached Files

 

Depends on the following items: None found

Items that depend on this one: None found

 

Carbon-Copy List
  • -email is unavailable- added by vdhoeven (Posted a comment)
  • -email is unavailable- added by jeronim (Submitted the item)
  •  

    There are 0 votes so far. Votes easily highlight which items people would like to see resolved in priority, independently of the priority of the item set by tracker managers.

     

     

     

    Follow 3 latest changes.

    Date Changed by Updated Field Previous Value => Replaced by
    2022-10-10 vdhoeven StatusNone Need Info
        Assigned toNone vdhoeven
    2022-05-31 jeronim Attached File- Added fix-double-overwrite-confirmation.diff, #53261

    Back to the top


    Powered by Savane 3.9