Releasing Savane

Working branches

Our Savane repository repository has two permanent branches:

This is the "stable" branch: it doesn't accept non-fast-forward commits, it is the base for all other branches.
This is where next development commits occur. The commits may be amended in this branch until they are absorbed in the master branch.

When no development is going on, our production machines run in sync with head of the master branch. When working on new features, the relevant machines may run the head of i18n (that is, where the head were at some specific moment). Since the AGPL requires that we provide the corresponding source code for frontend code, Savane links to the respective commit at our git server (the "Powered by Savane" link at the bottom of the page). This implies that no uncommitted changes should be made in the running code on frontend—all modifications should come through git.

Releases for the Translation Project

We do release tarballs in the download area of the administration group. These releases serve as references for the Translation Project where our UI is localized. Nonetheless, we do make efforts to ensure that the tarballs look like real releases and e.g. can successfully pass distcheck.

In the same area, we may also release auxiliary files like dumps of sample Savane database.