bugDenemo - Bugs: bug #33468, Save As instead of Save when you...

 
 

bug #33468: Save As instead of Save when you try to exit on modified score

Submitted by:  None
Submitted on:  Sat 04 Jun 2011 03:17:23 PM UTC  
 
Category: NoneSeverity: 3 - Normal
Item Group: NoneStatus: Wont Fix
Privacy: PublicAssigned to: None
Open/Closed: Open

Add a New Comment (Rich MarkupRich Markup):
   

You are not logged in

Please log in, so followups can be emailed to you.

 

Sun 05 Jun 2011 05:11:31 PM UTC, comment #4:

No, it wasn't me. It was the programmer that did the patch to support his gsoc application IIRC. I recall being surprised by it.
Yes, you could drop the Save As option, as it doesn't have much use. Un-requested save to your original file sounds terrible - I often use some previous thing as a basis for something new and forget to change the name for the first half-hour - dangerous as you can easily save it forgetting that you have not declared the new name.
Anyway, as this dialog persisted for 10 years in the most appalling state I would guess there is no real appetite for further change.

Richard Shann <rshann>
Project Administrator
Sun 05 Jun 2011 04:54:51 PM UTC, comment #3:

Richard, aren't you the author of the Save-As dialog part? I remember the original patch was with just "Save".

I don't think this change of dialogs is going to happen. Most of the time the dialog appears is that you have a score which you simply forgot to save. Filename and path are perfectly clear.
Just hitting "something" (the save button) is exactly what any computer trains and learns and it is in fact the equivalent to a "dozy" shortcut Ctrl+S which happens automatically most of the time without beeing noticed by the user.

P.S.
The next step is not to change Save to Save As but to remove save alltogether (not export, save copy or save as) and auto-save all the time. For text editors this works surprisingly well.

Nils Gey <steele>
Sun 05 Jun 2011 04:42:26 PM UTC, comment #2:

I think I agree with the author of this dialog: gradually all other programs will come to see that this is better, and change their dialogs.
When you say Close forgetting to save you should have to do more than just hit something, since you are being dozy and may well delete some work.

Richard Shann <rshann>
Project Administrator
Sat 04 Jun 2011 03:25:37 PM UTC, comment #1:

Agreed.
Denemo should stick to normal Desktop conventions. Save in the exit dialog is there because it was approved by years of usage.

Nils

Anonymous
Sat 04 Jun 2011 03:17:23 PM UTC, original submission:

This is 0.9.0.

Create a score, save it with a name. Then modify it, and go to new score. As it should be, you are prompted whether you want to save the modified score--but it gives the option as Save As, rather than Save. If the score has already been saved, the default option should be Save, not Save As.
-DW

Anonymous

 

(Note: upload size limit is set to 16384 kB, after insertion of the required escape characters.)

Attach File(s):
   
   
Comment:
   

No files currently attached

 

Depends on the following items: None found

Items that depend on this one: None found

 

Carbon-Copy List
  • -unavailable- added by steele (Posted a comment)
  • -unavailable- added by rshann (Posted a comment)
  •  

    Do you think this task is very important?
    If so, you can click here to add your encouragement to it.
    This task has 0 encouragements so far.

    Only logged-in users can vote.

     

    Please enter the title of George Orwell's famous dystopian book (it's a date):

     

     

    Follows 1 latest change.

    Date Changed By Updated Field Previous Value => Replaced By
    Sun 24 Jul 2011 06:59:32 AM UTCrshannStatusNone=>Wont Fix

    Back to the top


    Powered by Savane 3.1-cleanup